I love galahs!

” When I look into the eyes of an animal, I do not see an animal. I see a living being. I see a friend. I feel a soul.”  Anthony Douglas Williams.

proud-cocky-sfe-by-brdget-cameron

The galah (Eolophus roseicapilla) also known as the rose-breasted cockatoo.

I heard a familiar  ‘wuaaaaaaawk’, and looked out my bedroom window and watched quietly as a couple of galahs rested in the tall blue gum tree in my front garden. They knew that I was there, and for a while quietly observed me :).

i-can-see-you-sfe-by-bridget-cameron

They apparently didn’t mind my intrusion and before long they continued with their antics, hanging upside down, feeding, playing and munching on wood.

superb-cocky-sfe-by-bridget-cameron

The term galah is derived from gilaa, a word found in Yuwaalaraay and neighbouring Aboriginal languages, and colloquially we call them ‘cockies’.

It was utterly captivating and delightful watching them and I felt most privileged and blessed as they had allowed me into their precious lives, and hearts. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

